Blog – More Than a Meal for Three – Flash-Fiction

Events in life often occur and draw to a close things we had seen lasting a lot longer, but all we can do is take it on board and step forward really.

Not really related, but there’s a short story/flash fiction below if you want to jump to that; it’s called More Than a Meal for Three (or just enough food for Andrew, haha, but SPOILERS it’s not really about food), hope you enjoy it.

So. Events driving ever onward. Cling to the side of the truck racing down life’s road. And here we are. Planning the next steps, wondering what to do, brain-storming, spider-mapping, scribbling scrabbling and scratching on the surface of the future. Preferably having a notebook nearby in which to jetison resident thoughts, I’d think through the problem by running scenarios in my head and visualising them via a lot of arm waving and flicking of fingers (and just a little mumbling). One other method I find useful is recording myself talking it through out loud, that’s particularly good, and I don’t usually listen to it back it’s simply to push it out there to commit things to my (most likely short-term) memory.

Looking at the time, I’d better head home, doing some planning on the way methinks.

Oh, of course, all my methods of thinking are done best on the move. Can’t abide sitting still for too long, does me no good.

 

More Than a Meal for Three

 

“… that’s why I don’t want you calling this number again.”

“Who was it, John?”

“Nobody important.”

“Deville?”

“Lucille. I don’t know why she keeps calling.”

“I think it’s to speak to you.”

“No, no. Can’t imagine why. Can’t think why it would be.”

“You never did have much imagination did you, John?”

“Dear. I do not know why she is calling. Leave it.”

“I’m not sure I want this pasta, can you finish it?”

“You know I’m on a diet.”

“Are you.”

“Dear. Please, I am not a begging man, leave it.”

“Perhaps it’s time you started.”

“What?”

“Well, John, it seems now would be a good time to start. Seeing where we are.”

“Where we are?”

“John. Don’t play the fool. You are quite bright really.”

“Dear, I don’t appreciate your tone.”

“There’s a lot you don’t appreciate, John.”

“I’ll have the pasta.”

“I’m feeling quite hungry you know.”

“Hmm.”

“Hmm?”

“Nothing, Dear.”

“Well John, it isn’t nothing is it. You haven’t made it nothing.”

“Made it nothing? What are you talking about, Dear?”

“She won’t call on the house number will she, your Lucille, but will she call on your mobile?”

“Dear, I … ”

“And you haven’t said my name this entire evening. Are you afraid you’ll say hers instead?”

“Dear, I … ”

“John, no excuses. Do you love me?”

“Dear, I … ”

“John! Do you care for me at all?”

Leave a comment